Images (L to R) by Jan Wilson-Chalon, Tony Grubb and Charles Meadows




APAGB - What is it?

The Photographic Alliance of Great Britain (PAGB) is a membership organisation that co-ordinates activities for
photographic Clubs in England, Scotland, Wales & Northern Ireland (including the Channel Islands and Isle of Man)
through 15 geographical Federations, of which the NWPA is one.
Within their scheme of Service Awards the Award for Meritorious Service is held for life, a holder being entitled to insert the letters APAGB after their name. It was instituted in 1984 to recognise individual Club members who have given service over many years within the PAGB community of member Federations and affiliated Clubs.
Nominations will only be accepted for individual Nominees. Both the Nominator and the Nominee must be members of clubs affiliated to the PAGB. The Nomination must be kept strictly confidential whilst enquiries are being made and must not be made known to the Nominee until the Award is presented.
The Nominee shall have given meritorious service worthy of national recognition over a period of 10 to 25 or more years.
The Nominee will have served as a lecturer or judge, or as a key member of a Federation Executive or as the principal organiser of an event at Federation, National or International level. However, it is not sufficient simply to have served for a long period of time - quality and value of service are the deciding factors. All such service must have been important and beneficial to the members of affiliated clubs. The PAGB will expect that for periods of service less than 15 years the service given will have been exceptionally beneficial.
Further details are to be found on the PAGB website.


1999 - Arthur Aylward (†)

2011 - David A. Flitcroft (Beaumaris and Menai Bridge CC)

2004 - David Harding (Rhyl PS)

1985 - Harold B. Harrison

2022 - Kevin Hirst (Mold CC)

1988 - Helen James (Conwy CC)

2002 - Glyn Jones (†)

2006 - Christine Langford (Eryri PG)

2001 - Don Langford (†)

1999 - Emyr Roberts (CC Dyffryn Ogwen)

1986 - Margaret Salisbury (CC Dyffryn Ogwen)

2002 - Peter Underwood (†)

1989 - Ken Worthy (†)